I found it!

PART 3 – of a short series around creative thinking and testing

Part 1 – Boosting your creative thinking 
Part 2 – Where did my creativity go?

There it was. Monday, the day before the workshop and an entire day of work meetings and fire fighting before I could put my workshop together. There would be no room for pondering any ideas during the day.  Once back home I locked myself into my small working room with a pen, a paper and a laptop. I scribbled, I tinkered with some of gadgets for my exercises, I went through my stash of stuff I use for teaching, I drew some pictures for my power point presentation and put it together.  Four hours later I was satisfied with what I had come up with and I could finally go to sleep.

Notice how I did not say that I was done. I am never done but I had a good idea of how I would proceed with my workshop.  On the morning before heading to the conference I tossed down some extra stuff in my bag in case (coloring pens, paper, puzzles etc) I would have new ideas popping up in my head for my workshop.

When I got to the venue and had a look at the room for where I would run my workshop I got the shivers. The room was set up with chairs in rows all facing a huge white board where I was expected to project my presentation. This was not setup for creativity so my first job was to change the layout of the room to create a playful space.

I believe the workshop was a success. I had a lot of fun myself, came up with an exercise on the fly and enjoyed the vibe and energy in the room.

So how did I get from a void of ideas and a loss of motivation and energy to a room full of movement, talking, drawing, laughing and test idea generating? Was it magic?

IMG_20170915_153146

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

