Where did my creativity go?

PART 2 – of a short series around creative thinking and testing

Part 1 – Boosting your creative thinking

With only a few days left to the workshop and a void of ideas I was starting to get slightly worried about my abilities to come up with anything. I did have a few old ideas up my sleeve but I wanted to do something new and something different. Something I hadn’t done before. I did buy some stuff online which I thought I might have use for, like empty cards to write on and some Marvel Avengers Trading Cards. I do keep a stash of things which might be of use in workshops I design.

However I was exhausted after long working days and could not find any inspiration or energy to immerse in designing my workshop. On top of this I had a company gathering coming up which would keep my weekend busy.

Part of my process is to bounce off ideas with other people. I decided to use the Open Space we created at our gathering to facilitate a discussion on creativity and testing, particularly in how people come up with test ideas. It fit very well with my colleague Carsten’s topic on “Getting creative on demand” so we decided to combine our sessions.

My main takeaways from that discussion were the following:

  • My colleagues shared following regarding how they come up with test idea:
    • Visualizing by mapping the system
    • Using personas
    • Collaborate with a colleague
    • Using the rubber duck method – talking out load
    • Using different heuristics
  • Discussion around getting creative on demand
    • You need space and time.
    • Difficult to be creative on demand.
    • You can practice to be prepared when the demand comes up
      • One colleague shared how he keeps notes of all kind of things, fragment of conversations, ideas which come up etc.
    • Learn how you get creative – your natural mode
      • Talking
      • Writing
      • Moving
      • Focus or defocus

The discussion was interesting though I didn’t discover anything which I did not know or had experienced before, except a tip on a video on creativity by John Cleese.

When coming home from the gathering I still did not have the energy to design my workshop. Our gatherings are very intense, but in a positive way.  Instead I decided to watch the  video tip and read some blog posts on creativity. That was Sunday evening and barely two days before my workshop.

On Monday I woke with a twitch. It was crystal clear why my creativity had disappeared. Understanding this, my energy came back as well as my creativity. I was ready to design my workshop!

Part 3 – I found it!

2 thoughts on “Where did my creativity go?

  1. Pingback: Boosting your creative thinking | Curiousity killed the cat

  2. Pingback: I found it! | Curiousity killed the cat

Leave a Reply

